This site uses cookies to improve your experience. They are safe and secure and never contain sensitive information. For more information click here.



You will learn how to work to national standards of good practice when quality assuring the assessment of others.  A choice of units will allow you to decide what level of competence is best suited to your role.  That might be a manager, a team leader, an internal quality assurer or other. You will gain an understanding of the principles that underpin quality of assessment and how to determine the relevance and quality of evidence and support the assessor in making these decisions.

There are two awards and a certificate available at Level 4.  These quality assurance qualifications are part of an integrated suite of TAQA qualifications for training, assessment and quality assurance practitioners.

These qualifications are for people working in, or looking to enter roles in internal quality assurance.  They have been developed by LLUK to replace the Verifier (V) Units.  The units and qualifications will provide people who carry out internal quality assurance roles in their organisation with the opportunity to develop and improve their practice as well as achieving a professional qualification for the role. 

The knowledge only unit allows anyone who is interested in or needs to know about quality assurance – but is not a practitioner – to acquire knowledge and information about the processes.  Although it is a stand-alone unit, it features in the qualification as the sound basis for ‘competent’ practice.

Achievers will understand the principles of internal quality assurance and have the knowledge to develop and improve systems at their centre. 

What will I learn?

·       The Level 4 Award in Understanding the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice is a knowledge only award for those starting their journey as internal quality assurance practitioners or those who need to know about internal quality assurance but are not carrying out quality assurance themselves.

·       The Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice is for practitioners who conduct internal quality assurance of the assessment process from within a centre/organisation, by sample planning, monitoring and advising on the practice of assessors.

·       The Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice is for practitioners who lead the internal quality assurance process within a centre/organisation and have responsibility for managing the quality of the assessment process, practice and the performance of assessors.

Download Course Brochure here. 

How do I apply?

For further information on content and requirements of the award please contact Maria Meredith on  

To apply please contact Laura Sullivan:

Email:  or Tel: 01179092367

For up to date information visit our Facebook page:

Course Summary

Course Name:
SGS College - Filton
Please contact us for detailed costs.
3-4 Weeks
Start Date: